DAPNC Recommends Jamie Nelson

Write by:

The Designated Associate Pastor Nominating Committee (DAPNC) was approved by the congregation on Sunday February 9th, and was called to identify and present to the congregation a nominee for the position of Designated Associate Pastor of Student Ministries. This is a new position designed to provide pastoral leadership of student ministries, as well as an additional pastoral presence on staff.

Do not be conformed to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your minds. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is, his good, pleasing, and perfect will. Romans 12:2

We committed ourselves to a process of discernment and the practice of indifference, trusting God to provide wisdom and guidance through the Holy Spirit, as we sought to identify the candidate God is calling to this position.

We have met together for 14 consecutive weeks. In preparation we spent our time to become better acquainted, to pray, to build understanding and trust, to engage in spiritual practices together, and to study a book on spiritual discernment. This has been a truly exciting journey, culminating in the unanimous experience of receiving God’s clear direction to the candidate of his choice.

“God’s will, nothing more, nothing less, nothing else”  Danny Morris, Chuck Olsen

We were assisted in our search by the Presbytery of San Diego and our assigned liaison, following the protocol set by Presbytery. SBPC qualified for this assistance since we had already conducted a two-year nationwide search, which unfortunately did not reveal a suitable candidate. We have met all criteria set by the Presbyterian Book of Order and the San Diego Presbytery Committee on Ministry. We will continue to follow their guidelines and requirements as we move forward with this process

It is with great joy that we unanimously present Jamie Nelson as our nominee for the position of Designated Associate Pastor of Student Ministries at SBPC.

With Praise and Gratitude to God,

Christine Willems (Chair DAPNC)
Mark Halling, Doreen Hutton, Mike Maquet, Matt Miller, Cathy Tyre

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Let's connect!

We want to hear from you.

Sign up for our weekly email newsletter.